Contentment is a state of mind

photo-174

I’ve wondered about contentment the last few years. We read about people who are content, and I have yearned to be like them.  I’ve read around the subject a little and thought quite a lot about it and my conclusion is: Contentment is a state of mind.

Here are some of the thoughts I’ve read and found helpful:

“The happiness of your life depends on the quality of your thoughts”

“Search for the beauty in everything because it’s there if you look hard enough”

“You can’t control what happens in your life, but you can control how you react”

“Joy is not in things; it is in us”

“The bend in the road is not the end of the road, unless you fail to make the turn”

“Live in the present because it’s all there is”

I tried to think of an appropriate image to use to illustrate contentment and google came up with predictably cheesy ones, but for me, when I’m content, is when my boys are happy and we’re doing something together.  So that’s the image I chose. A hot summers day at the beach, together, just being.

Leave a Reply

