Review: Procope Coffee House

photo 2-45

The new face of post-earthquake Christchurch has seen Procope, a gem of a coffee house, move just down the road to become my local, and boy and I pleased.  I’ve ALWAYS wanted to live close to a cafe as cool as this one, and I didn’t even have to move – Procope came to Fendalton, lucky me!

Procope has in fact been around for about 10 years.  Jason Harris bought it five years ago and is on site each day with a friendly smile, as are all his eight staff.  James is my normal barista and he makes the BEST hot chocolates, and I’m pretty picky – I’m known to send them back….  It’s a bitter hot chocolate which I find a refreshing change.  Always the right temperature; hot – but not tongue singeing, and just the right amount of froth.  Procope has both cabinet food and a menu, and (apart from the bread) it’s all made on-site.  Mighty tasty, and very tempting offerings that I try in vain to resist.  Today I was with my father as we’d wandered up for a mid-morning coffee and chat.  He chose their blueberry muffin with a dollop of cream cheese inside, which he’s rather partial to.

Procope has some of the most edgy interior design that I’ve ever seen in a cafe.  Designed by local Industrial and Architectural Design company Element 17, Procope is a visual orchestra with lots of different and eclectic elements all working together in harmony.  It’s stimulating, fascinating, mesmerising and beautifully finished.

Our take on Procope: Delighted to have them in the neighbourhood.  First local choice for breakfast, coffee and lunch.  One of my top two places to have hot chocolates in Christchurch, and a truly brilliant interior to complete the experience.

Procope: 205 Fendalton Road, Christchurch.  Open: Mon-Fri 7.30am – 5pm, Sat-Sun 8.30am – 4pm

One thought on “Review: Procope Coffee House”

Leave a Reply

