Recent Purchases: Colour on Colour

I’ve been following the fashion stylist Stephanie Rumble’s Facebook page for her business Flair Image for a few months since I heard about her 2013 one year challenge of not purchasing any clothing/shoes/accessories.  She completed the challenge with few outfit repeats (I’d love to know how she keeps track of all the items in her wardrobe), and I’ve been hooked on her daily posts ever since.

photo 1-62

Every day Stephanie has really helpful and practical styling and fashion tips and I’ve taken a couple on board recently; to wear colour on colour and that a dress is the pear shape’s best friend.  Stephanie pointed out that most of us wear colour or pattern with a neutral, and challenged us to wear colour on colour, and for those of us who are pear shaped, Stephanie recommended that a dress was to be seen as our bestie.

Well, as you can see – I took her advice to heart with my two purchases yesterday and it turns out Stephanie’s advice was spot on.  Today I have worn colour on coloured pattern and I’ve had SO many comments about this outfit.  From a woman in the Ballantynes (Department Store) bathroom, the mums and teachers at school, to my son’s Psychiatrist.  Mission accomplished with flair.

I also purchased this lovely kaftan style top which is lovely and floaty to wear and is versatile – wear on top of a swimsuit, with white skinny shorts or trousers, or black skinny shorts or trousers and it can move happily from the beach to the restaurant.

photo 2-64

Both my dress and kaftan were bought from Kimberleys for 70% reduction from the original price.  Makes me even happier…

Leave a Reply

