Beauty Review: Estée Lauder Double Wear Powder

photo-197

I’m not one for a full face of makeup but I’ve always worn a powder product with a hint of foundation. I used to use Clinique’s Superpowder Double Face Makeup but after grilling the makeup artist for my sister’s wedding for her recommendations I switched to Estée Lauder’s Double Wear Powder and haven’t looked back.

I like my skin to be even-toned but not caked with foundation, and I find that the Double Wear Powder does this very well. My morning makeup routine is a spot or two (or many) of concealer, apply the Double Wear Powder over my entire face, enhance my cheekbones with blush and then on goes my eye makeup. Nice and easy, and it gives a natural yet groomed finish.

I reckon the Estée Lauder product is better than it’s Clinique counterpart as firstly it lasts twice as long and I can pretty much get a year out of one compact (and that’s using it daily), and secondly, I reckon it stays on my skin longer therefore giving better coverage. At the end of the day I wipe it off using a skin cleansing wipe, splash my face with warm water and then moisturise.

There’s a range of shades and colours and you need to get a professional to match it for you.

3 thoughts on “Beauty Review: Estée Lauder Double Wear Powder”

  1. Hi, I’m on the hunt for a good foundation in powder form so I was wondering is it a foundation?? or just a setting powder?? and whats the coverage like?

    1. Hi – Estee Lauder categorise it as a powder “Double Wear stay-in-place powder makeup” and give it a medium coverage rating. I use it as a light foundation as it has enough coverage to even out my skin tone and cover most blemishes. If you’re looking for a foundation, it might not be enough for what you’re after, but it would be worth trying it out at the Estee Lauder counter. I sweep the sponge over my face once, but you can build it up if you want to. I love it. My mother, who has sun spots, has just started using it too. She was delighted with the coverage it gave her. Happy hunting!

Leave a Reply

